Show All Answers
No. The Chelsea Court Reservation System is an exclusive benefit for our Annual Passholders. Non-passholders are welcome to call in their reservation request 2 days prior to their desired date of play. Guest reservation requests will be assigned courts after passholder reservations have been assigned.
During implementation of the new system, we will provide set times for our guests and players to come in and learn how to use the new system. Please contact the pro shop for more information at 561-791-4775.
You are welcome to call in 2 days prior to play as you have done in the past, but remember that many time slots may be taken by then. It might be easier for a passholder in your play group to stop by the shop and learn the system with our staff.
Historically, these reservations have a higher possibility of cancellation/no-show, so all requests must be accompanied by at least 2 names of valid passholders for singles, and 4 names for doubles. Non-passholders will not be in the system, and will need to be entered as a “guest”.
The system is very intuitive and will help you find the names of other passholders. It will also enable you to create a “buddy list” to refer to for your requests.
No, all advance request must have be attached to a passholders name and account number.
No, your initial request is just that, a request for a specific time. Placement/confirmation of your time will occur 3 days prior to your requested day of play, a day before phone requests are fielded.
We are going on the premise that it is fairest that everyone get a single opportunity to reserve a court before anyone can play 1-2 times. For that reason we do not allow multiple requests.
Morning demand for courts often exceeds the capacity for play. Should you wish to play longer or more often, requesting a time earlier or later in the morning may enable you to begin sooner or play later without being bumped by another groups reservation.
No, a given number of courts are held each day for programming and they will continue to be done manually at the desk. Call us at 561-791-4775 for more information.
Afternoons are generally open and available, but mornings are always in high demand. We will offer 8:00 AM, 9:30 AM, and 11:00 AM for reservation in 1 ½ hour increments in the morning.
Yes! If the court is open when you arrive you can start. If no one is booked for use of the court after you, you can continue play.
However, if you are bumped by the next group with a reservation, you can then go to the desk and book the next available court.
The computer assigns courts at random, so you cannot request a specific court. That said, once placements are assigned our front desk staff will try do their best to accommodate court change requests.
Yes. All players are required to check in at the desk to confirm their play status and payment when applicable.
The months of August and September are historically the slowest months of the year (few leagues, no summer camp, many players are away) and this gives us the best chance for our players (and the staff) to learn the system. Should there be any initial glitches, we have ample courts available to address any issues and not inconvenience anyone. Our goal is that as we get busier on the courts, more players will be comfortable and confident in using the system.
No. Based on Florida Statute Chapter 162, an appeal is only to the Circuit Court.
Yes. Per Florida Statute Chapter 162, an appeal of a decision by the Special Magistrate must be filed to the Circuit Court within 30 days of the date of the Order.
The Code Officer cannot enter your property unless invited onto the property by the property owner or tenant. As a general rule, inspections must be performed from a public right-of-way or easement. In some cases however, a neighboring property owner may give permission to enter onto their property to observe your property.
Yes. Except for homestead property, Florida Statute Chapter 162 provides that liens which remain unpaid for a period of 3 months may be foreclosed upon. The city would prefer to avoid such extreme consequences where possible.
If a nuisance or life safety violation exists, Wellington may correct the violation. Three examples of when Wellington may consider correcting the violation is an overgrown lot, an unsecured swimming pool or an unsecured building providing an attractive nuisance. If Wellington does correct the violation, liens are placed against the property for the costs associated with the correction.
The Division caseload is generated in one of two methods. Responding to citizen complaints is a first priority. In addition, the code officers periodically tour residential communities performing Neighborhood Improvement Inspections.
No. The lien will attach to all properties owned by the property owner in Palm Beach County.
No, it is provided primarily as a courtesy to the property owner. The code officer may choose to send a case directly to the Special Magistrate without providing the first courtesy notice if there is a life safety violation, if a nuisance has been declared, or if there is a repetitive history for the property or owner. In that case, a Notice of Violation/Notice of Hearing will be sent to the property owner notifying them of the violation and Special Magistrate hearing date.
Take prompt action to correct the violation. If you are not sure what needs to be corrected, how to correct it or, if you are working toward correcting the violation, but need additional time due to special circumstances, it is important that you call the code officer to discuss your issues. In most cases additional time will be given if the individual circumstances warrant such an extension.
The Special Magistrate will issue an Order based upon the testimony provided at the hearing and will direct that the violation be corrected within a specified period of time. Fines and liens may be placed against a property as a result of any enforcement action, whether or not the property owner is present at the hearing.
If the violation is not corrected, you will be served with a Notice of Hearing requiring your appearance before the Special Magistrate. The Special Magistrate can assess fines up to $250 per day for each day the violation continues to exist.
A Neighborhood Improvement Inspection is a pro-active, department generated inspection. The code officer will inspect each property to determine if there is any violation of a Wellington Regulation. Approximately 75 to 80% of our total cases are a result of the pro-active efforts of the code officer.
If a violation is noted, a first or courtesy notice will be given to the property owner of record, and in some cases the tenant, to advise them of the problem(s). The notice may be in the form of a letter sent to the property owner, or it may be in the form of a "door hanger" left at the front door of the home. A property owner is given a period of time to correct a violation, usually three to thirty days.
In most cases the costs that the Code Compliance Division incur in the prosecution of a case to the Special Magistrate will be assessed against the property owner at the hearing. A lien will be filed if the costs are not paid within the time frame given by the Special Magistrate. These costs are typically not less than $175 but in some cases have been as much as $600. Actual per day fines will be certified by the Special Magistrate if the violation is not corrected by the time specified in the Order.
These per day fines will continue to accrue until a violation is corrected and the Code Compliance Division is notified of the correction. These fines can accumulate into many thousands of dollars and are filed as a lien against the property.
There is a cut-off date; however, we do not know the exact date until collection begins and progress is measured. Generally speaking, collection can take anywhere from 45 to 120 days to complete. Residents should stay tuned to media for Wellington public announcements.
Stumps are included in collection after a storm; however, they are picked up by a separate contractor and generally collected from the middle to the end of our cleanup efforts.
No! Businesses do not receive storm debris collection from Wellington contractors and must make private arrangements for their removal.
We could be seriously harmed by flying debris if it isn't collected! Wellington encourages residents to plan well ahead by completing all major cutting by April 30th. When residents cut large amounts of debris as a storm is nearing landfall, there is not enough manpower, equipment or hours in the day to collect it all. Wellington and the haulers also have to prepare their own facilities and equipment to safely weather the approaching storm.
FEMA guidelines do not provide for contractors to come into a resident's yard to collect debris. All debris must be moved curbside where your normal garbage pickup occurs.
Fencing is collected by Wellington contractors and should be placed at the curb in a pile separate from vegetative debris and household garbage.
Your recycling bins should never be used for anything other than recycling! Your recycling collector will not pick up trash and your trash hauler will not touch a recycling bin. Drywall and other small amounts of construction debris should be double bagged under 50 pounds.
Small amounts of roofing shingles or tiles should be containerized by double bagging. Small amounts placed loosely at the curb are almost impossible to collect mechanically and if collection is attempted the result is usually extensive damage to lawn, swale, driveway or street. If you have a large amount we recommend the rental of a roll-off container or having your roofer include the cost of removal of the shingles in their roof replacement estimate. In many cases, these costs are covered by your insurance company.
No! There is no reimbursement provided to any individual or community that hires a private contractor to remove and dispose of storm debris generated from a federally declared natural disaster.
Because of the specialized, heavy-duty equipment used to collect as much debris as possible in the shortest amount of time, minor damage to swales and lawns is not uncommon. Residents should be prepared to add fill, dirt, and sod to the staging area of their yard if this occurs.
The homeowner is responsible for cleaning up residual debris following the first collection. All leaves, twigs, pine needles, etc. need to be raked up and containerized in plastic bags for collection on the next pass. Small debris that is not containerized cannot be collected by the heavy equipment used by storm debris contractors.
The collection of storm debris can be very costly and keeping debris types separate reduces the overall cost which is a savings to the taxpayer. Processing clean vegetation is cheaper than processing vegetation with construction and other debris mixed in.
Clean vegetative debris only is collected on the first pass. If your vegetative debris is mixed with construction or other debris, you must separate it and it will not be collected until the second or third pass.
Contractors provided a minimum of 2 passes following the storms of 2004 and 2005. The actual number of times can change depending upon the severity of the storm and the amount of damage it leaves behind.
Hurricane season runs from June 1st through November 30th.
All major cutting and/or tree removal should be done between December 1st and April 30th. Hurricane season has ended by December and even though we have not yet experienced a hurricane in June, it doesn't mean it won't happen. There should be no cutting done from June 1st through November 30th.
If everyone waited until May, the collection system will become overburdened making it impossible to collect all vegetation before a June hurricane landfall.
Neither. Wellington hires private contractors to collect all residential storm debris and FEMA representatives interpret and enforce the rules of collection.
If you receive curbside collection service, your storm debris will be collected at the curb. If you reside in a multi-family unit such as a condominium and have containerized (dumpster) service, your community will need to hire a private company to place all storm debris at the nearest public road right-of-way for collection.
Garbage collection is a priority and it will be the first thing collected following a storm's passing. Residents should place garbage curbside on their regular scheduled collection day unless our public service announcements advise otherwise.
Collection starts almost immediately after the storm passes. Depending on the severity of the storm, it may be 3 to 6 weeks before residents receive their first collection of storm debris.
Wellington has one of the most dynamic equestrian communities in the country and features several venues for a variety of disciplines including polo, dressage, hunter and jumper disciplines as well as non-competitive, family-owned farms. Wellington's Equestrian Preserve Area (EPA) is identified on the Future Use Land Map and is regulated by the Equestrian Overlay Zoning District (EOZD). Wellington's Equestrian Community can be defined by both its location and population. Primarily, the equestrian community is located on 9,000 acres in the western and southern portions of Wellington within the EPA.
It includes the:
Wellington's Council created the Equestrian Overlay Zoning District (EOZD) in 2003 in order to regulate development and activities within Wellington's Equestrian Preserve Area (EPA). The EOZD is the zoning regulatory framework that protects the community's character by regulating land uses and development. The purpose and intent of the EOZD regulations are the following:
By identifying and encouraging specific uses that are consistent with the character of the equestrian community, Wellington can sustain its equestrian industry.
Wellington's Equestrian Preserve Committee was established by Resolution 2000-36 to advise Wellington's Planning, Zoning and Adjustment Board about land use decisions within the Equestrian Preserve Area (EPA). The Committee consists of seven residents who reside in the EPA and are involved in equestrian activities or businesses. The powers and duties of the Equestrian Preserve Committee are to provide advice, upon the request of the Village Council, about the following matters:
For more information about Wellington's Boards and Committees, including the application to serve on an advisory board, visit our Equestrian Preserve Committee page.
Since 1999, Wellington has dedicated and maintained more than 100 miles of public and private bridle trails throughout the Village. These pathways include roadway easements, canal right-of-ways, and public and private bridle path easements. The trails are maintained to provide safe riding conditions for both horses and riders. Funding for bridle trail maintenance and improvements, including the installation of trail head and markings, landscaping, trail footing and trail crossings, is budgeted in Wellington's Capital Improvement Plan each year. Through the Equestrian Master Plan process, Staff will identify potential trail expansions and improvements to provide the safest and most secure pathways for horses and riders.
View Wellington's existing bridle paths in our GIS Map Gallery.
Wellington requires all livestock waste to be containerized and covered, and these bins must not allow storm water to result in waste discharge into adjacent bodies of water. The size of livestock waste bins is not specified in Wellington's Code of Ordinances. However, approval of the design and location must be obtained prior to construction of the manure bin. Livestock waste shall be placed or stored in the livestock waste storage area and shall not be placed, accepted, stored, or allowed to accumulate on any property except as provided in Section 30.153 of the Code of Ordinances.
Hay Rides: Children must be 12 years of age to ride without an adult.
Yes, however available parking is limited. We strongly encourage guests to take advantage of the free shuttle, located at the Palm Tran Bus Stop near Macy's at the Mall at Wellington Green. Those still wishing to park at the event should try to arrive early and carpool if possible.
The event schedule and activity times will be posted, when available, at wellingtonfl.gov/FallFestival
No sign-ups are necessary for the costume contests.
The pie eating contests are first come, first serve. Sign up at the sound stage.
No pets (with the exception of service animals) are allowed in the park.
While some vendors and food trucks may accept credit cards, it is recommended to have cash on hand for purchases.
For sponsor and vendor information please complete our Sponsor / Vendor Interest Form, select "Special Events" as your area of interest and check "4th of July Celebration".
There are two locations for first aid. One will be located between the two fields closest to the gymnasium, in a clearly marked red tent. Guests can also visit the front desk inside the gymnasium for first aid assistance.
In the event of a lost child, please report immediately to the first aid/lost child tent in the middle of the field where our staff will be able to further assist you. Please be prepared to provide the child’s name, age, description, and last known location.
While some vendors and food trucks may accept credit cards, it is recommended to have cash on hand for purchases.
Guests are encouraged to bring blankets and chairs for seating. While the area is treated in advance for mosquitos, bug spray is also recommended.
While food trucks and vendors are available on site, guests should also consider bringing:
Wellington’s Fourth of July Celebration is free to attend. There is no cost for admission. All activities are free, with the exception of purchases made at food trucks or with vendors.
Parking is available on site but is very limited. Guests are strongly encouraged to make use of the free shuttle service provided from the Mall at Wellington Green, at the Palm Tran Bus Stop near Macy's. The shuttles begin running at 5:30 p.m.
Please note: Shuttles do not run during the fireworks show which begins at 9:15 p.m. Shuttles will resume running when the lights come back on after the show.
Visit the event page for additional details.
Personal fireworks, alcoholic beverages, and pets (with the exception of service animals), are not allowed in Village Park.
For additional questions and concerns about Wellington's July Fourth Celebration, please call us at 561-791-4005.
7-8 months from the time you are approved for the program to when your project is completed.
Once the application has been submitted and approved for processing, the applicant will be notified via email. A third party inspector will be sent out to your home to prepare a bid specification document for the project that was listed on the application. Once prepared, the homeowner will meet to discuss the bid specification document and view the estimate cost of the project. When the homeowner agrees to move forward, the Village will schedule a pre-submittal meeting that will be advertised on DemandStar for all interested general contractors.
The pre-submittal meeting allows those interested general contractors to come out to the property and take measurements. Only general contractors who attend this pre-submittal meeting can bid on the project. A bid opening will be held to open all submitted bids, the contractor with the lowest responsive bid is awarded the project. The homeowner is responsible to bring in their cashier’s check for their 50/50 match including the 10% contingency and the Escrow fee. The homeowner will sign an Escrow Agreement and a title search will be run on the property.
When the title search is received and reviewed, the loan documents will be prepared for the homeowner’s signing. The loan documents will be sent to be recorded with the County. The project will commence once the work order is approved by the Village of Wellington and the recorded documents have been returned to the Village.
The contractor has 120 days from date of commencement to complete the project.
No, this grant does not retroactively give out assistance.
No, all permits for other projects must be completed and closed prior to any work being done.
No, products or brands are decided by the contractor based off their vendors. Items will need to be up to the current Building code product approvals and specifications. The owner will be able to select the finish, colors, styles & types of materials from pre-mixed, in stock options.
No, if approved for the grant, Wellington will provide a third party inspector to come out to your home to prepare a bid specifications document for your specific project. If you agree with the bid specifications, your project will be advertised by the Village for eligible general contractors to submit bids on the project. The contractor with the lowest responsive bid will be awarded the project.
No, this grant will only cover hurricane hardening structures (ex: storm panels)
Examples of required documents for the application include, but are not limited to:
Financial Institution Account Information:
Verification of Income
If the code case on your property is being resolved by the grant that will not be an issue. (Ex. Code Violation for dirty roof and you are applying for new roof through the program) Any other code cases need to be rectified prior to applying for the program.
Yes, this grant is a 50/50 matching grant. Meaning if approved, the applicant’s match is 50% of the project’s total cost, plus a 10% contingency. A $350 nonrefundable escrow fee is required to be paid before work can commence. The Village’s 50% portion of the grant will be secured by a five year, forgivable mortgage recorded on the property. There is 0% interest on the loan.
No, there is no application fee.
The continguency is used in the event there are unforeseen circumstances found during the project. (Ex. Rotted plywood is found when removing the roof)
Anything that exceeds the 10% contingency is the responsibility of the homeowner. If the contingency is not used at the completion of your project, you will be refunded the amount in the form of a check from the Escrow Agent.
No, the contractor will only receive one payment when the project has been completed, passed final inspection, and submitted the completed payment packet to Village staff.
The homeowner will need to have signed the Certificate of Satisfaction of Work, which is part of the payment packet.
No, the applicant’s amount needs to be paid in full prior to the commencement of the work.
During the loan document signing the following documents will be signed and recorded:
If applicant has received a Great Neighborhoods Grant or CDBG grant in the past, the applicant is not eligible to apply until the loan period of previous project has been satisfied. Applicant is eligible for a maximum total of two grants for the property in a lifetime with total grant awards not to exceed $30,000.
If your property is in a Trust, you will need to provide the Trust documents for the beneficiaries of the Trust. The beneficiaries will need to provide required documents for the application.
In the event of a voluntary sale of the property, or refinance of any mortgages on the Property, the Owner will have to pay the Village the net proceeds derived from the sale, or refinance provided such payment shall not exceed the unpaid principal balance. The Loan Forgiveness Period will end upon the sale or refinance of the Property.
Once the application is submitted, it takes 7-10 business days to be notified via email with the status of your application.
If an applicant submits the wrong paperwork or documents, the application will be rejected and the applicant will have to reapply with a new application. Please be sure to have all required documents available to upload into document.
You can only upload:
Microsoft Word (.doc, .docx )
Adobe Acrobat PDF Files (.pdf)
Image Files (.jpg, .jpeg, .bmp, .png, .tiff)
Yes, you can only drop out of the program prior to the Escrow agreements being signed. If you decide to drop out of the program after Escrow agreements have been signed, you will not receive the $350 Escrow check. If you do wish to drop out of the program, you would not be able to reapply until the next grant cycle.
Ineligible repairs include, but are not limited to: work on other buildings on the property not considered the primary residence (i.e. detached garage, sheds, and barns) or the repair or replacement of non-essential items (hot tubs, swimming pools, paint, items that are beyond the minimum requirements of the building code, etc).
No, applicant is not eligible if they own rental properties.
You can use Google Chrome, Safari or Microsoft Edge
Yes, you will need to provide all pages of your three most recent tax return forms. Please be sure all pages are in order for each member of the household.
No, the applicant will need to upload the 2019, 2018 and 2017 signed income tax (IRS) documents (1040, 1098, all schedules) including W-2 forms and 1099 statements for all household members.
You will need to request a transcript or certified copy or copies from the IRS for the missing documents.
If self-employed, the applicant will need to include year-to-date Profit and Loss statements and the last four quarterly tax payment documents.
no, this grant does not cover landscaping.
This grant only covers tree removals if they are causing a hazard to the home. The applicant will be responsible for hiring an arborist. This grant does not assist in tree replacements.
If specifications are needed for the project, the applicant will be responsible for hiring a consultant (structural engineer, licensed arborist, etc.) and incur all associated costs. The applicant will need to coordinate with the consultant and provide Village of Wellington staff with the needed documents to continue with the program.
Ordinance 2021-18 was passed on October 26, 2021. The regulations take effect on passage (October 26, 2021) except for non-conforming hedges and fences. Non-conforming hedges and fences have until December 31, 2026 to be replaced with the required hedges and fences (types, color, and material) or obtain Architectural Review Board (ARB) approval.
Ordinance 2021-18 was passed as a means of creating a uniform appearance along all Wellington thoroughfares. Uniformity is a value-added appearance. A list of Wellington thoroughfares can be found in Figure 2- Wellington Functional Road Classifications in Article 9 of the Land Development Regulations.
If a tree is being removed from your property you must complete a Tree/Vegetation Removal application. This form can be found by clicking this link: Form Center • Wellington, FL • CivicEngage (wellingtonfl.gov)
Code Compliance Department will be enforcing the regulations with particular attention to fence setbacks first. As time progresses, hedge height and materials will be enforced. If a property has a non-conforming hedge material that is kept in good condition as required by the LDR, then the property owner may apply for an Alternative Material request with the Architectural Review Board (ARB).
All properties whose rear or side property lines abuts a thoroughfare are affected by this update. Ordinance 2021-18 provides for a single uniform hedge height, identifies five (5) specific hedge materials, provides for fencing setbacks, and addresses maintenance requirements, all with the intention of creating a uniform, healthy appearance of hedges along village thoroughfares.
The five (5) required hedge materials along a thoroughfare are Cocoplum, Green Arboricola, Podocarpus, Clusia, and Simpson Stopper. Cocoplum, Green Arboricola, Podocarpus have been on Wellington’s approved hedge material list prior to incorporation. Clusia hedges have become very popular throughout Wellington, specifically in the Equestrian Preserve Area, due to its significant height and width. Simpson Stopper is a native plant and a great alternative to Ficus.
Property owners without a fence or hedge along a thoroughfare are now required to have a hedge installed that shall be maintained at eight (8) feet in height and be one (1) of the (5) following species: Cocoplum, Simpson Stopper, Clusia, Podocarpus, or Green Arbicola.
Hedges on thoroughfares have to be maintained at eight (8) feet in height.
Property owners may apply to the Architectural Review Board (ARB) to request an Alternative Materials approval to allow for the non-conforming hedge material to remain as long as it is and continues to be kept in good condition as required by the Land Development Regulations (LDR).
Hedge material shall be planted every three (3) feet on the center, at a minimum height of 36 inches high at the time of planting. Newly planted hedges have three (3) years from the time of installation to grow to the required maintained hedge height of eight (8) feet. All fence material that faces a right-of-way, including fencing not located adjacent to a thoroughfare, are required to have hedging, unless specifically exempt from the code.
The Architectural Review Board (ARB) has adopted Fence Designs and Materials list that provides the types, color, and materials of fences that are permitted within Wellington. Please contact the Planning and Zoning Department for the approved list.
All applications must be completed in their entirety and minimum requirements must be met. The applications that pass this screening are passed on to the Department Head or Supervisor of the Department with the open position. The Department will arrange interviews with the most qualified candidates.
After the most qualified applicants are interviewed, they may be asked to fill out a release so that a background check, drug screen and physical can be performed. After these screenings, a job offer may be made to the applicant that best fits the needs of the Village.
Applications are accepted online for current open positions only. The online application must be completed in its entirety, and all applicants must meet the minimum requirements for the position they are applying for. Start the process by completing an application online.
Under the U.S. Department of Education’s Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) program, the remaining balance on your student loan may be forgiven after you have made 120 qualifying monthly payments while working full-time at the Village of Wellington. Learn more about this valuable program.
Generally, the Village interviews a number of candidates for an opening. Candidates with the best overall match of attributes, such as work experience and skills, will be chosen.
The Village of Wellington provides a comprehensive compensation package for full time employees, such as:
For a complete list of benefits for each position type please contact a member of Human Resources at 561-791-4000
If you are claiming Veteran's Preference, fill out that section of the online application.
The Village has a Pay Grade Chart. It can be viewed online to see what the pay grade is for the position you are applying for. All new hires generally start at the minimum pay of the pay grade for their position.
Sometimes the Village receives many applications, and it can take a few weeks from the time you applied to get a response or phone call. We understand people are anxious to hear back, and therefore, we do our best to review the applications as quickly as possible.
If your application is reviewed and meets our minimum criteria, you may receive a phone call to set up an interview. Should your application be declined, we will notify you via email at the address you provided to us in your online application.
If a senior citizen over 65 meets certain requirements; they are exempt from paying the Local Business Tax. However they still need the Local Business Tax Receipt, but do not pay the tax. Mail the renewal notice to Wellington Village Hall located at 12300 Forest Hill Boulevard Wellington, FL 33414 to validate the renewal at $0.00 and the actual license will be sent back to you. The Local Business Tax Receipt will not show as renewed until we validate it. If you are doing any type of business that requires back up documentation, such as a state or local license, (contractor, etc.) you must send a current copy with your renewal.
Pursuant to Florida Statutes, Chapter 205.192, non-profit corporations are not required to obtain a County Local Business Tax Receipt. A Wellington Local Business Tax Receipt is required, but no fee is charged.
Contact the Florida Department of Revenue for sales tax information or via telephone at 954-467-4200 or 561-640-2800.
If you are using a Fictitious Name, you must have that name registered with the Florida Department of State Division of Corporations. Filing for a fictitious name is done through the Divisions of Corporations. Applications are available online.
The taxes are based on the business category, ranging from $100.00 to $2,500.00. Some classifications determine the tax by the number of employees, number of seats, inventory at cost, number of merchandise machines, rental units, etc.
Local Business Tax Receipts are issued within 3 to 5 business days, upon presentation of the application and any pertinent documentation that may be required, such as proof of State Licensing, if required, if the nature of your business is regulated by State or Local certification.
The County application is required to be submitted as part of Wellington's application. Upon intake Zoning will review the application for compliance with Wellington Land Regulations (LDR) for the "use" at the proposed location. If approved staff will sign-off on the County application, process and issue the Wellington Local Business Tax Receipt and mail it and the approved County application to the applicant. For more information, contact the Business Tax Office.
A local business tax shall grant the privilege of engaging in or managing all businesses, professions, or occupations within the village. Business Tax Receipts are issued by the Tax Collector’s Office for the privilege of operating a business in Palm Beach County. Any person doing business within the village's jurisdiction needs a Wellington Local Business Tax Receipt. Businesses will also need to obtain a county license from Palm Beach County Tax Collector. The Local Business Tax Receipt is a tax imposed for the privilege of doing business in both the municipality and the county in which the business is located. Any person who provides merchandise, entertainment, or services to the public, even if only a one-person company or home-based business, must obtain a Local Business Tax Receipt to operate.
No. Depending on the type of business or profession, and the location of your business, you may need State, Professional and County Licenses. Contact the Business Tax Office for more information.
Customers over 65 years of age must meet the following criteria:
Yes. You must submit a new application anytime you make one of the above changes.
All local business tax receipts may be transferred to a new owner when there is a bona fide sale of the business upon payment of a transfer fee of 10% of the annual business tax, not less than $3 or more than $25, (205.033(2), Florida Statutes) and presentation of evidence of the sale and the original receipt. Upon written request and presentation of the original receipt, any receipt may be transferred from one location to another within the village upon payment of transfer fee of ten % of the annual local business tax not less than $3 or more than $25.
Renew in person at our office at:12300 Forest Hill BoulevardWellington, FL 33414
If mailing your renewal, please mail to:Attention: Business Tax Receipt12300 Forest Hill BoulevardWellington, FL 33414
Applications for Wellington's Local Business Tax Receipt are obtained at:12300 Forest Hill BoulevardWellington, FL 33414Map
You may request the appropriate application by calling 561-791-4000 or email BTR@wellingtonfl.gov. Please note: The application must be submitted in person to our office. You may send in a representative if you are unable to come in yourself.
You will need one Local Business Tax Receipt for each location you are operating your business from and for each classification of business you are conducting.
Yes. Beekeepers, farmers, and any residents in Wellington who wish to be added to the do not spray list must submit a request through our Self Service Portal.
Not likely. The pesticide is extremely safe for use around warm blooded creatures and is in fact a repellent for animals. There is, however, the possibility that inhalation of the spray could cause a reaction in individuals with chronic respiratory illnesses such as asthma or emphysema. Call the Mosquito Control Hotline at 561-791-4001 for more information.
Each night's activities are recorded and reviewed the following day. A Global Positioning System (GPS) recording device provides a visual track of a truck's location and an indication as to whether the spray system was on. This system provides us the ability to view the actual work of the operator to determine if any part of the treatment area was missed and to assure that he or she is performing appropriately. Call the Mosquito Control Hotline at 561-791-4001 for more information.
During the peak of the mosquito season (June through November), no more than once per week. Wellington is divided into five zones to be treated. Call the Mosquito Control Hotline at 561-791-4001 for more information.
The primary system is five light traps augmented with carbon dioxide (CO2) operated at the same time each evening. Residential requests are used to indicate problems not reflected in light traps. Mosquito technicians in the field conducting larval surveillance and treatment utilize landing rate counts to provide additional data. Call the Mosquito Control Hotline at 561-791-4001 for more information.
Spraying for adult mosquitoes is not done on a routine schedule. Schedules are made on a daily basis based upon surveillance data taken each morning from mosquito traps around Wellington. State pesticide regulations require specific surveillance be conducted prior to pesticide applications. Call the Mosquito Control Hotline at 561-791-4001 for more information.
No, you do not need to reside in Wellington in order to rent a pavilion. Pavilion rentals are available for both residents and non-residents.
Pavilions can be reserved up to 3 months in advance.
Yes, bounce houses are allowed, but can only be placed at the following locations:
Important: The rental company providing the bounce house must provide a generator for the inflatable, and must have a certificate of liability insurance on file with the Village of Wellington Parks and Recreation Department prior to the rental date. Please call 561-791-4005 with questions or concerns.
Yes, however, all vendors must be approved prior to the rental date by the Athletic Programs Manager. Please call 561-791-4741 for more information.
No, we do not provide water or electricity access.
Refunds may be requested by completing a refund request form, available at Village Park. The completed form must be received by the Wellington Parks and Recreation Department at least 24 hours in advance of your rental. Refunds are not issued for inclement weather on the day of the rental.
For assistance, please contact the front desk at Village Park, at 561-791-4005. Park rangers are available throughout the week/weekend, and can be sent to assist you in case of any issues.
For additional questions or concerns about pavilion rentals, please call the Wellington Parks and Recreation Department at 561-791-4005.
Your email and phone number will only be used to for sending subscribed notifications and confirmations. Your email and number will never be shared or sent any other type of communication.
Alert delivery by email cannot be guaranteed due to email service providers' message filtering practices. If you did not receive your confirmation email, please check your junk/spam folders.
We highly recommend adding alerts@RainoutLine.com to your Safe Senders list, in order to help ensure delivery to your inbox.
If you have an Android or iPhone mobile device, we recommend downloading the free RainoutLine application from the app market/store instead of signing up for email alerts. The app gives the benefit of quickly checking the status whenever you need to know as opposed to alerts that are sent every time the status is updated.
If you did not receive a confirmation text to your phone, please text HELP to 855-999-7790.
To find and download the app on your iPad, visit the Apple app store and search rainout line. If your search results return 0 results, check your search settings and change them to include iphone apps in the results. You should now be able to see the rainout line app, and download it to your iPad.
Yes. Favorites allow you to save the rainout lines you wish to view to your own list.
The green circle icon means "It's a Go!" or "Open", and there are no present cancellations, delays or notices.
The yellow triangle icon means "Delayed". Select that extension to view additional details or listen to the recording.
The red icon means "Canceled" or "Closed". Select that extension to view additional details or listen to the recording.
The question mark icon means "Questionable" or "Notice". This may be used to post more information for an event, activity, or facility, or to note that we are monitoring the current weather situation. Select that extension to view additional details or listen to the recording.
Please visit the RainoutLine unsubscribe page to unsubscribe from text and email notifications. For text notifications, you can also unsubscribe by texting STOP to 855-999-7790.
Please note, this will unsubscribe you from all text notifications. If you only wish to unsubscribe from a particular alert, it is recommended to use the RainoutLine unsubscribe page to do so.
For all other issues you can email Support or call 888-255-6110. You can also contact Parks and Recreation with additional questions or concerns.
To request a garbage, recycling, and/or vegetation container, you can submit a request through the Self Service Portal.
You can report a missed pick-up for trash, bulk, or vegetation by submitting a request through the Self Service Portal.
You can apply for backdoor service by filling out our Disability Service Request form.
To report a pothole in the road or any sidewalk that appears to pose a safety hazard, you can submit a request through the Self Service Portal.
You can report any street light outages by submitting a request through the Self Service Portal.
You can call 561-791-4000 or submit a request through the Self Service Portal to report any dead animals on the road or Village of Wellington right-of-ways.
Village of Wellington does not pick up any dead animals located on private property.
The Village of Wellington does not remove live animals. If you have an issue with a live animal that needs removal, please contact Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission at 561-625-5122 or a local trapper.
You can call us at 561-791-4000 or submit a request through the Self Service Portal if you witness any excess algae or other aquatic vegetative growth in the canals or lakes.
The millage rate is the ad valorem property tax rate levied per $1,000 of a property's taxable value. The rate is expressed in mills, which is equal to 0.1% of the taxable value. Each taxing authority adopts a millage rate each year that appears on the property tax bill. To calculate the tax levy using a given millage rate, the formula is:
Taxable Value/1,000 X Millage Rate = $ Ad Valorem Tax
For example, a Wellington property with an assessed value of $350,000 and exemptions of $50,000 has a taxable value of $300,000. The ad valorem property tax for Wellington would then be:
$300,000/1,000 X 2.48 Mills = $744
Wellington Solid Waste assesses for the collection and transportation of all waste and recycling for its customers. The Solid Waste Authority of Palm Beach County assesses for the disposal of all waste. For more information about the Solid Waste Authority, please visit the Solid Waste Authority's website.
NOTICE OF PUBLIC DISCLOSURE VILLAGE OF WELLINGTON, FLORIDA FULL COST FOR SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT SERVICES
IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE SECTION 403.7049, FLORIDA STATUES THE FOLLOWING DISCLOSES THE FULL COST OF SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT SERVICES WITHIN THE VILLAGE OF WELLINGTON, FLORIDA FOR THE YEAR ENDING SEPTEMBER 30, 2018
*COMMERCIAL COLLECTION SERVICE
Collection per uncompacted cubic yard for 2018 is $6.46
Collection per uncompacted cubic yard for 2019 is $6.64
*Does not include container rental rates
** Solid Waste Authority of Palm Beach County separately collects processing and disposal costs through an annual Non-ad Valorem assessment
The Acme Improvement District (AID) is a dependent special district originally created by the Florida legislature in 1953 to provide drainage, water management, and infrastructure development in western Palm Beach County. Special Districts are unlike municipalities and counties in that some of them, including Acme, collect revenue from non-ad valorem assessments. This means that the amount of the assessment is not based on the value of the property. Assessments are unit-based and paid solely by landowners benefiting from the services that Acme provides.
The number of units is based on the amount of land owned:
The taxable value of a property is its assessed value less any exemptions.
Exemptions may include:
Once the application has been submitted and approved for processing, the applicant will be notified via email. A third-party inspector will be sent out to your home to prepare a bid specification document for the project that was listed on the application. Once prepared, the homeowner will meet to discuss the bid specification document and view the estimate cost of the project. When the homeowner agrees to move forward, the Village will schedule a pre-submittal meeting that will be advertised on DemandStar for all interested general contractors.
The pre-submittal meeting allows those interested general contractors to come out to the property and take measurements. Only general contractors who attend this pre-submittal meeting can bid on the project. A bid opening will be held to open all submitted bids, the contractor with the lowest responsive bid is awarded the project.
No, this grant does not retroactively give out assistance.
Examples of required documents for the application include, but are not limited to:Remember to redact any personal information on the submitted documents. All documents collect become public records.
•Valid forms of identification for all members living in the household over the age of eighteen (18)
•Copies of the three most recent years of signed income tax (IRS) Documents (1040, 1098, all schedules) including W-2 forms and 1099 statements for all household members over the age of eighteen (18).
•Copies of the three most recent months of information for all household members. (checking, savings, IRA, stocks, bonds, etc) Example: If you apply in the month of May, please provide May, April, and March statements.
•Copies of interest/dividend income over $100 annually
•Real Estate Tax
•Gas and/or Oil (if applicable)
•Payroll stubs, tips, wages
•Social Security Disability Insurance
No, if approved for the grant, Wellington will provide a third-party inspector to come out to your home to prepare a bid specifications document for your specific project. If you agree with the bid specifications, your project will be advertised by the Village for eligible general contractors to submit bids on the project. The contractor with the lowest responsive bid will be awarded the project.
No, products or brands are decided by the contractor based on their vendors. Items will need to be up to the current Building code product approvals and specifications. The owner will be able to select the finish, colors, styles & types of materials from pre-mixed, in-stock options.
A property may receive no more than one COVID-19 Temporary Hometown Repair Program grant in a lifetime if an applicant has received either a Great Neighborhoods Grant or Community Development Block Grant in the past; the applicant is not eligible to apply for the COVID-19 Temporary Hometown Repair Program until the loan period of the previous grant has been satisfied
If your property is in a Trust, you will need to provide the Trust documents for the beneficiaries of the Trust. All beneficiaries will need to provide the required documents for the application.
Unfortunately, the Village of Wellington will not agree to subordinate in the event of a refinance.
For Instructions on How to Set up a Residential and Commercial Account visit our Set Up an Account page.
Base charges are necessary to recover the on-going expenses required to keep service available to the property. Even though there is no water usage, the Department must operate and maintain the water and wastewater treatment plants, maintain the lines and lift stations, read the meters and mail the monthly bills. These costs continue to be incurred regardless of occupancy or actual water consumption. These charges are billed to all of the Utility's Customers.
For more information, contact the Utilities department.
Call Customer Service at 561-791-4010 during normal business hours Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. For an after-hours emergency, call 561-791-4037.
Deposits are returned as a credit on your account after 24 consecutive months of service as long as the following requirements have been met:
If not credited after 24 months, your deposit is credited to your account at the time of your final billing after deduction of outstanding charges.
You can contact our Customer Service Center at 561-791-4010 Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Water bills are based upon monthly meter readings indicating the amount of water delivered to the customer. The typical usage for a single-family residence is approximately 3 to 4 thousand gallons per person per month (without lawn irrigation). The most common reasons for high water usage are excessive irrigation and leaky plumbing fixtures. For more information, contact the Utilities department.
The water meter box is located in the ground, typically along your front property-line, and is constructed out of concrete or heavy plastic.
Learn how to keep your water quality up on our Maintain Water Quality page.
If you plan to be away for an extended period of time, we suggest you to have your water meter turned off. This will prevent unauthorized water use or loss of water due to leaks or line breaks while you are gone. We require one business day notice. Contact us at 561-753-2418.
There are several payment options available to you, visit our Payment Options page for more information.
An account is delinquent and will incur past due charges if payment is not received by the due date. If the entire past due balance is not received at our office within 10 business days of the past due statement date, your service is subject to termination without further notice. Contact the Utilities department right away.
To transfer or cancel service, please notify us at least 3 business days in advance of the requested date of disconnection. Verification of an ownership change will be required to discontinue service. We will need a forwarding address to ensure the final bill and/or any remaining deposit is properly forwarded. Customers are responsible for all charges associated with the service address until the service is permanently disconnected. Call 561-791-4010 for more information.
Each new customer is required to place a security deposit with the village. Your deposit is returned as a credit on your account after 24 consecutive months of service provided:
If you should move out of our service area and your deposit is still on record, it will be credited to your final bill. After deducting any outstanding charges, a check for the difference will be included with that bill.
If you move to a new location within our service area, your deposit can be transferred to your new address. You are allowed a month's overlap in service before another deposit is required.
Deposits may be waived if a former customer has had service within the preceding 24 months and had their deposit returned for good credit. Any former customer not meeting these requirements will be processed as a new account and be required to pay a standard utility deposit. Your deposit does not prevent the disconnection of service due to non-payment. If service is disconnected for non-payment of the account, an additional deposit may be necessary at the time of reconnection.
Contact the Utilities department for more information.
Call our Utility Customer Service department at 561-791-4010 between the hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. For emergencies after normal business hours please call our Water Treatment Facility at 561-791-4037 (this is an after-hours emergency number only).
If you live in Buena Vida, Olympia or Villagewalk please contact Palm Beach County Utilities 24-hour Emergency Center, phone 561-740-4600 and select option 1.
Your customer ID and Account number are located on the top portion of your utility bill. The CID is located to the left of the dash and the account number is located to the right of the dash.
You can reach our Customer Service Call Center at 561-791-4010 Monday – Friday 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM.
Base facility fees are charged each month in order to recover expenses required to keep service availability to the service location regardless of usage or occupancy.
The most common reason for high water usage are leaky plumbing fixtures and excessive irrigation. Water bills are based on monthly meter readings reflecting the amount of water that registers through the meter.
No credit is available for filling a pool or deliberate acts of water usage, however; if your monthly water usage is over 15,000 gallons in one billing cycle the sewer portion of your bill is no longer charged.
To view where the Wellington Amphitheater is located along with additional information, please view the Wellington Amphitheater.